Keeping Boots in business…

Last night while doing my usual bed time ritual it occurred to me that I am using around 8 different lotions and potions on my body, a little excessive maybe?

I’ve always been on the larger side on the boob front however this pregnancy created two bouncing milk monsters and it didn’t end there. Pre bump I was always a healthy size ten and was lucky to stay pretty trim on my arms and legs but out of nowhere came this arse that would give Beyonce a run for her money. Then the thighs went, followed by my hips and don’t even get me started on my chin. I tried to stay as active as possible during my pregnancy, I went swimming and did some yoga but there came a point where I just honestly couldn’t be bothered moving off the sofa. Philip, Holly and a packet of hobnobs was all I was looking for towards the end.

After the birth I managed to lose a bit of my weight through breastfeeding and was quite lucky to get back to a size 12 quite quickly, I think it might have had something to do with me not eating breakfast until 2pm and living off coffee for 5 months.

The stretch marks got me big time, I had a massive meltdown in Zara one day when I had a 360 view in the mirror and was horrified at the pale saggy body looking back at me. This was when I decided I needed to firm up and fast, it was only a few months until our holiday and I don’t think my skinny jeans would work for around the pool.

Throughout my pregnancy I used good old Bio oil, Palmers coca butter and some lovely Mamma Mio products recommended by a friend. But my obsession for operation yummy mummy didn’t end there. So off I went to boots being sucked in by advertisements promising to firm me up, zap that fat and turn me in to a beach goddess in 30 days. I now have a twice daily ritual of lathering on these lotions and standing in front of the mirror looking like a wet seal while they work their magic.

I often think if I just cut the caffeine and junk from my diet, drank more water and hit the gym on a regular basis it might save me more money and the total rigmarole of having to slap this rubbish on my body twice a day. On the other hand I have around a million Boots advantage card points and know the woman on the beauty counter by her first name. Totally worth it.

BIiCWzyCIAIdiUm

2 thoughts on “Keeping Boots in business…

  1. Kim I think you look great, but I know how you feel. I’ve just started running again and drinking lots of water and can see the difference in my skin already.take a deep breath hun….it took nine months to getthe pregnant weight and they say it takes nine to shed it. Although Lola is almost two now I still have wobble but I’m told I hide it well. To me, its not about hiding it, its about getting rid of it. So I too am on a fitness mission to shed the last stone and tone up.
    Just stay positive and cut some caffeine out and eat healthy, drink water and lots of sleep….when you can. Good luck.x

  2. Know exactly how you feel. I lost all my pregnancy weight very quickly only to put it back on and more when I went on the implant!!

    As others have said, lots of water, healthy eating, exercise and sleep.

    Sending you a big hug.

    Thank you for linking up with The Weekend Blog Hop

    Hope to see you again this weekend

    Laura x x x

Leave a Reply

