Kate does Topshop

While the whole nation is on ‘bump watch’ as Kate Middleton moves in to her final trimester, I have been drooling over some of the beautiful designer gowns she has been wearing throughout her pregnancy. Luckily I didn’t have any gala dinners with the Queen or meetings with the President to attend and there were no photographers camped outside waiting to pap me in my maternity leggings and converse (unless you count the creepy man across the road). None the less I still wanted to look good and feel comfortable throughout my pregnancy without looking like a beach whale.

After browsing at a few pics of Kate I have noticed she has been wearing quite a few Topshop dresses recently, I have to say Topshop was a godsend while I was pregnant.  I didn’t buy too much from the maternity range as I found it a little expensive for items that I would only be wearing for a few months. I did buy a few pairs of their maternity jeans but I did find they did go quite saggy on the bum and didn’t wash very well. Post baba I have also bought a few pairs of their Leigh jeans, these are slightly high waisted so great for tucking my jelly belly in to! Just make sure you team them with a long top to cover the weird denim bulge!

The one thing I did invest in from Topshop was smock style dresses, these were great for the early days when I was trying to hide my tiny bump and as I got bigger there was still plenty of room. They were also great for disguising my saggy belly after baba was born and I can still wear them now and don’t have to worry about feeling uncomfortable. They look great with a pair of thick opaque tights and brogues then you can be brave and go bare legged with a nice pair of ballet pumps for the summer (or those few days in July).

Kate has worn two of the dresses I have; I think she may have spotted me at The Trafford Centre in them. Firstly this lovely little black dress with a white peter pan collar which I wore with flats while pregnant, I then wore it for my first night out in heels post baba with a pair of very attractive shaping tights! I teamed my dress with a necklace to dress it up a little but it looks just as pretty on its own.

shop-kate-middleton-style-collar-dress-topshop

Peter pan collar dress, Topshop £46

photo (1)

Another dress she wore for her trip to the Warner Brother’s  studio opening  was this pretty polka dot dress, I think they do a maternity version but I just bought this in a size up so had plenty of room for bump and boobs! I like it with a little leather biker and flats then it can be dressed up with a blazer and heels a la Kate…

top

Some other pretty dresses from toppers, all at reasonable prices as you will definitely get your wear out of them. Long live the smock!

10S23DBLE_normal

Not quite a smock but nice and floaty for hiding belly and hips. £46

10K61DFYE_normal

Love this colour for the summer and elastic can sit above your bump, bargain at £29!

http://www.topshop.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/TopCategoriesDisplay?storeId=12556&catalogId=33057#slide1

Leave a Reply

