Oscar’s naming day…

Oscar William was officially named on Saturday 11th May at Great John Street Hotel in Manchester. We have never been a religious family so we decided on a Humanist naming ceremony as we wanted to make it personal and meaningful to us. We had a really lovely celebrant who came to the house to meet us so she could get a better understanding of our family values and what hopes and aspirations we have for Oscar. She wrote the most wonderful script and I found some readings that would be read by myself and some close friends. I found this one to read on behalf of myself and Mr A, I think it really captured everything we hope and wish for Oscar and it certainly got a few tears from everybody!

I want you to be happy

I want you to be happy. I want you to fill your heart with feelings of wonder and to be full of courage and hope.

I want you to have the type of friendship that is a treasure – and the kind of love that is beautiful forever. I wish you contentment: the sweet, quiet, inner kind that comes around and never goes away.

I want you to have hopes and have them all come true. I want you to have a real understanding of how unique and rare you truly are. I want to remind you that the sun may disappear for a while, but it never forgets to shine. May the words you listen to, say the things you need to hear. And may a cheerful face lovingly look back at you when you happen to glance in your mirror.

I wish you the insight to see your inner and outer beauty. I wish you sweet dreams. I want you to have times when you feel like singing and dancing and laughing out loud. I want you to be able to make your good times better and your hard times easier to handle. I wish I could find a way to tell you – in untold ways – how important you are to me.

Of all the things I’ll be wishing for, wherever you are and whatever I may do, there will never be a day in my life when I won’t be wishing for the best… for you.

Instead of god parents we had to choose ‘guide parents’ who would play a part in the ceremony and of course be acknowledged as playing a big part in Oscar’s life. We have some amazing friends so really found this part difficult, although we were pleased with our choices in the end and they even got to pledge to Oscar that they will always be there to support him on his adventure through life!

The celebrant encouraged us to pick a few pieces of music for during the ceremony. One song that we both decided on straight away was The Beach Boys ‘God only knows’ which was the song Oscar was born to! (More about my awesome birth in another post!) We also love The Carpenters ‘Close to you’ and thought it would be nice to end the ceremony with a bit of Stevie Wonder ‘You are the sunshine of my life’ – a classic.

I decorated the room and outdoor terrace with these beautiful paper pompoms that I found online, they came flat packed then I spent about a week pulling them all apart to hang and tie throughout the room.  I also found cute little jam jars which I filled with fresh flowers for on the tables, the place looked so pretty and we were even lucky enough to have some sunshine in the afternoon!

We also liked the idea of a wish tree (which we recycled from our wedding!) the idea was for all our guests to write a wish or a top tip for Oscar which he can then read on his 18th birthday. We decorated it in the colours of the French flag, a nod to our love of all things Parisian and we certainly had some fun reading them the next day.

The ceremony was just perfect; I just about managed to get though my reading without sobbing my heart out although it was a struggle at times! Everyone smiled, laughed and cried then as the ceremony came to a close we all raised a glass to toast our family and the children all blew bubbles which was a lovely touch.

We then went on to have champagne and afternoon tea on the terrace then there was lots of catching up with friends and family who had travelled from all over the country for Oscar’s special day. Oscar got given some wonderful gifts and we have some brilliant pictures and memories that we can share with Oscar once he is old enough.

I certainly recommend the Humanist Society if you are looking for a non-religious ceremony, they we able to capture everything we wanted for the day and it was great to be able to share our love for Oscar with our family and friends through the voice and ideas of the celebrant.

Thank you to all our family and friends for making it such a brilliant day, you’re ace!

Only thing is we will have keep up tradition and have one for the next baby! Ah well, I do love a good party!

 

IMG_1860

6 thoughts on “Oscar’s naming day…

  1. @stylemyparty.co.uk Hi Kim, what a sweet celebration, lovely photos of what looked like a fabulous day for all. Hope Oscar enjoyed all the attention on his special day?

  2. awww this is such a beautiful idea! i had never thought of anything like this for my little man but now you have got me thinking!

    Thanks for linking up with #magicmoments xx

  3. That was a really lovely read,it made me a bit teary!Love the wish tree and your choice of music was perfect. Lucky Oliver to be loved so very much 🙂
    #magicmoments

Leave a Reply

